Bridal Prep – Favourites

lucy hannah photography

I love, love, LOVE this photograph! This photograph was taken at one of the first weddings I shot, and it was the first time I had photographed bridal prep. It is one of the photographs that made me fall in love with this part of the day. I love the contrast between light and dark in this photograph and I think it works really well in black and white. The bride is almost completely central in the image and not only are you drawn to her face by the vertical lines of the mirror and walls behind her but also the v shape made by the bridesmaids arm as she fixes the brides hair. I love the brides expression in this shot, she looks so elegant and poised. I like how the light highlights the brides hand as she reaches to place a flower in her hair, and how her hand is blurred showing that the photograph was taken in the moment and not staged. My favourite thing about this image is that the bride is perfectly in focus…it is her moment.

 

Leave a Reply

