Defining success

lucy hannah photography pinterest quote

I’ve never had a client say that they were disappointed with their photographs; in fact they’re normally delighted. And no matter how much confidence I have in my ability as a photographer, I often find myself feeling like a failure. That was until I started thinking about the definition of success. But when I feel like a failure, whose definition of success am I measuring that against?

Success is defined in the dictionary as three things:

  1. the accomplishment of an aim or purpose
  2. the attainment of popularity or profit
  3. a person or thing that achieves desired aims or attains prosperity

I think for a long time I thought that the success of my business had to be defined by the number of bookings or how much profit I made, until I realised that wasn’t the aim of my business. Don’t get me wrong having enough bookings to be able to be a full time wedding photographer is the dream but my aim is to create beautiful photographs that my clients cherish and admire for years to come.

So whenever I feel like my work has failed, I look at what I define success as. If my clients are happy, then no matter what, I’m a successful wedding photographer.

Leave a Reply

