Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting the different results – Einstein

Lucy Hannah Photo

I’ve always admitted that blogging has never been my strong point, but its something that I’ve wanted to improve on for a while. I know that my blog can be a great advantage for my business but I find it hard thinking of the right kind of things to write about, so I’ve decided to start the 7 day blogging challenge from Alex Beadon to see if it can help me figure out a more purposeful way to use my blog. So here goes day one…

For those of you who don’t know me I’m Lucy and I’m the photographer behind Lucy Hannah Photography. I love being creative and as well as photography I love all things arty. I love putting my own spin on things be it making my own clothes, experimenting with recipes to come up with something new, or more often than not wearing something leopard print every single day!

I first started blogging as a way to showcase some of my photographs and document a bit of the journey of building a business. I thought that blogging would help my work gain an audience and create an online presence alongside my social medias and website, allowing people to get to know me a bit more. I never thought it would be this hard! I end up going through phases with my blog – I’ll think of things to write about or I’ll have photographs to show off so sometimes I end up blogging loads in a really short space of time; then nothing. Then I run out of ideas and the blogging stops. Sometimes months pass before I figure out what to write about next and when I find something good, somewhere in the back of my mind thinks…this is it – I’m going to get loads of followers from this post and I’ll never run out of ideas of what to write about ever again. But that’s never what happens, and I end up going through the whole cycle again. Einstein said that “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results” and if that’s true then the way I’m blogging at the moment is definitely making me insane 😉

I want my blog to be a place to talk about my portfolio, my influences and my ideas. I want it to be a place for potential clients to visit and for them to get to know me a little bit more, to get a feel for what its like working with me and a place where they can understand my approach to wedding photography. I also want it to be a place where I can help brides and grooms as well as past clients by giving advice and tips about wedding photography, decorating with photographs and about the whole wedding planning process.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about the style of photography that I want to be known for and I’ve been lucky enough to try more creative things at recent weddings. I have loved being more creative with my photography style and I’ve been able to get some photographs that not only am I really proud of but have had some amazing feedback from.

AimeeTaran179 AimeeTaran079 AimeeTaran024

The one message that I eventually want people to take away from my blog is that I love my job, and I love taking photographs that make people happy.

4 thoughts on “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting the different results – Einstein

  1. Hey Lucy,

    It sounds like we have TONS of things in common. My strong suit is NOT my blog, but hopefully this challenge gets me inspired and off the ground.

    I love that you want to have your own spin on food, photography, and art in general. That’s awesome.

    P.S I feel you on the whole getting tons of followers from ONE post. haha. we can dream right?

Leave a Reply

